IAAF Continental Cup

The IAAF Continental Cup will take place for the first time in Czech Republic on 8th - 9th September 2018. The best athletes of all continents will compete at the City Stadium in Ostrava-Vítkovice with the capacity of 15 000 spectators.

The IAAF Continental Cup is an international athletics competition which comprises track and field events. It is formerly known as the IAAF World Cup or the Athletics World Cup. It is the only world cup contested by teams representing entire continents, rather than just those of individual countries. The event takes place every four years.

The founder of the World Cup was the Italian IAAF former President Primo Nebiolo.

The previous format (known as the IAAF World Cup) included separate men's and women's competitions. Eight teams would take part in each event - five continental and three national. The winning men's and women's teams (and runners-up) from the preceding European Cup qualified as national teams for the World Cup, together with the United States. The continental teams comprised Africa, Asia, Oceania, the rest of America (North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletic Association and Confederación Sudamericana de Atletismo), and the rest of Europe.

Beginning with the 2010 event in Split the format was changed and the competition renamed the IAAF Continental Cup. The number of regional teams was reduced to four: Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe and the Americas, each represented by two athletes or one relay team in every event. National teams were eliminated from the competition. In addition, the separate men's and women's competitions were merged; the continental teams now compete for a single mixed championship.


Date of IAAF Continental Cup Ostrava

8.–9. September 2018, City Stadium Ostrava



History of Continental Cup

1977 Düsseldorf
1979 Montreal
1981 Řím
1985 Canberra
1989 Barcelona
1992 Havana
1994 London
1998 Johannesburg
2002 Madrid
2006 Athena
2010 Split
2014 Marrakesh
2018 Ostrava